Hello and welcome to my blog!

I’d like to start by telling you a story… one I find amusing.  I started my blog for the sole purpose of participating in some card challenges.  I never thought it would be anything other than a boring blog where I would post my cards for linking purposes. Well, I was wrong!  I entered my first card challenge (The Color Throwdown Challenge #451) and I was selected to participate as a featured stamper!  How cool, right?  Well, because I was selected, the blog linked my card to my blog! How embarrassing that it was like a shell of nothing and my blog post was pretty sad.  It seems that someone has a bigger plan for my blogging so I’ve spent most of my night trying to learn how to make my blog look cool.  I still have a LONG way to go, but it has improved a little since the last time some of you were here (or I hope it has!).

Anyways, now on to why most of you are here… the Color Throwdown Challenge #453. When I was sent the inspirational picture and colors, I immediately thought florals (again!).

swatch453.jpg

I wanted to make sure I created something different from my previous card so I rummaged through my stamp sets and camp across the Paper Smooches Best Buds. I stamped out the jar of flowers and started painting! I thought the vase resembled the mason jar, so I was pretty excited! For my card, I watercolored the flowers using my Mijello Mission Gold Watercolors (ugh — I cannot get enough of them) and my Pentel Aquash brush in the fine tip. Once the flowers were colored, I struggled with how to put the card together.  I kind of fly by the seat of my pants.  I really need to do a better job of planning my cards out in advance! Anywho, I came across a Watercolor Brushes stamp set and decided to use my watercolors to paint on the stamp. I used light water so you can see the strokes. I really love the way it turned out. After that folks, my card was almost finished.  I coated my flowers and vase with the Spectrum Noir glitter brush pen in clear and called it done!  I hope you enjoy my card.

20170725_190241    20170725_190309

For more inspiration and to see the design teams’ creations, check out the Color Throwdown blog. There you will also find details on how to play along!

The Color Throwdown
I hope you have a great day and come back to visit my blog!
Love, Julie
Leave a Reply

